Kiasmos, the Icelandic minimal techno duo is made up of a multi-instrumentalist and producer Ólafur Arnalds, known for his blend of minimal piano with electronic sounds, and Janus Rasmussen, known as the mastermind of the electro-pop outfit Bloodgroup.

Based in Reykjavík, Arnalds used to work as a sound engineer, often for Rasmussen’s other projects, where the two musicians discovered their common love for minimal, experimental music.

Their collaborative electronic project was born in order to explore the area in-between Ólafur’s more acoustic, piano-based solo work and Janus’s synth-heavy electro pop. In 2014, they released their self-titled debut LP ‘Kiasmos’ on Erased Tapes Records. A majority of the album was recorded using acoustic instruments next to a variety of synthesisers, drum machines and tape delays. It features a live drummer, string quartet and Ólafur performing on the grand piano, producing an ambient, textured sound.

Following on their ‘Thrown’ EP that featured remixes by FaltyDL and 65daysofstatic, their ‘Looped’ EP with re-interpretations by Dauwd and Lubomyr Melnyk, released for Record Store Day 2015, and their ‘Swept EP’ with three tracks and a Tale Of Us remix, the duo will release their ‘Blurred’ EP through Erased Tapes on October 6th.

Janus Rasmussen explains: “To write new material felt like a new beginning for us after two years of touring. The plan was to write something a tad darker than our previous stuff. Spring in Reykjavík had other plans though, as this turned out to be our brightest release to date.”

Remixes on the EP come from Bonobo and Stimming, each taking Kiasmos’ music in fresh directions. Ólafur Arnalds adds: “Stimming was one of the reasons we started making four-on-the-floor music and we have been listening to Bonobo since we were young, so it was a great honour that they wanted to contribute remixes for the EP.”


1. Shed
2. Blurred
3. Jarred
4. Paused
5. Blurred (Bonobo Remix)
6. Paused (Stimming Remix)

For other reviews check out our news section.